TwitterPinterestInstagramGoogle PlusMembers login

Book Review: Kaffe Fassett’s Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts

Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts

Kaffe Fassett’s Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts
Kaffe Fassett with Liza Prior Lucy
Abrams; $35.00

Once again, Kaffe Fassett and Liza Prior Lucy have produced a book that whets your color and design appetite. Kaffe’s ambition for the book was to draw attention to the basic shapes we use in quilting as they appear in our surroundings. To do this, he uses lots of architectural and nature photographs to highlight shape. The photographs of the quilts then cause you to focus back on the simple shapes, squares, rectangles, triangles, diamonds, quarter circles, and circles. Some examples: Kaffe’s quilt Bounce filled with circles and the photo of the installation at the Keukenhof Gardens in Holland of a “pavement” made up of upside-down flower pots; the quilt Striped Donut and the old door made of concentric squares cut from strips of distressed wood. The book includes instructions for 23 quilts. I believe the book has sharpened my design eye a bit, and I’m seeing even more geometric shapes in my surroundings. Fans of Kaffe and Liza will love the book.

Here’s a link, if you’d like to add it to your library.

Pin It!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS).